Read about the winners of the 2020 In the Company of Women Awards

Read about the winners of the 2020 In the Company of Women Awards

Miami-Dade Parks Recreation and Open Spaces In the Company of Women

Miami-Dade Parks, Recreation and Open Spaces Department, in partnership with the Parks Foundation of Miami-Dade and the Miami-Dade Commission for Women announce the winners of the 2020 In the Company of Women Awards.

In an abundance of caution, due to Coronavirus (COVID-19), the 2020 and rescheduled 2021 In the Company of Women Awards Ceremonies have been cancelled. 

Mayor’s Pioneer Award
Darlene Boytell-Pérez, ARNP, co-founder of Pérez Art Museum Miami

Arts and Entertainment Award
Maria Banda-Rodaz, Executive Director at Area Stage Company

Business and Economics Award
Nancy Batchelor, Sr. Vice President of EWM Realty International

Communications and Literature Award
Griselle Marino, Press Officer and Community Liaison, Office of Community Advocacy, Miami-Dade Board of County Commissioners

Education and Research Award
Suzanna M. Rose, Ph.D., Founding Associate Provost, Office to Advance Women, Equity & Diversity (AWED), Florida International University

Government and Law – Elected Official Award
Honorable Jeanette M. Nuñez, Lieutenant Governor, State of Florida

Government and Law – Non-Elected Award
Christina White, Miami-Dade County Supervisor of Elections

Health and Human Services Award
Ana “Teri” Busse-Arvesu, Senior Advocate for Miami-Dade County Mayor Carlos A. Gimenez’s Initiative on Aging

Science and Technology Award
Yuk-Ching Tse-Dinh, Ph.D., Professor and founding director of the Biomolecular Sciences Institute and the Translational Molecular Discoveries program, Florida International University

Sports and Athletics Award
Kerry Gruson,  Co-Founder and Co-Chair, ThumbsUp International

Young Professional Award
Claudia Prado, National Director of Corporate Social Responsibility and Community Empowerment, Univision Communications Inc.

Community Spirit Award
Marie P. Woodson, Retired Miami-Dade County Administrator and former Chair of the Miami-Dade Commission for Women.


To learn more about the 2020 winners, visit our page to read their biographies. 

Read about the In the Company of Women winners

Originally published at

business banners

Latest posts

Malik Nabers and Gordon McKernan Discuss Humble Beginnings and College Football Stardom in Podcast Episode

Gordon McKernan and Malik Nabers sit down at Walk-On’s in Baton Rouge for a “Grubbin’ with G” podcast episode Gordon McKernan...

Nature Camps available throughout the year at Parks

Let your child explore the outdoors at a Miami EcoAdventures day camp. Children have an opportunity to connect with nature, make friends, and have fun...


Curated Brand Activation at America's Preeminent Art Fair Promotes Global Real Estate Portfolio to 76,000 Fair Attendees from 76 Countries NEW YORK, Sept. 14, 2023...

Tre Luna Design Announces “Ben Carré: A Parisian in Hollywood”

“Ben Carré: A Parisian in Hollywood” Tre Luna’s Seed&Spark crowdfunding campaign kickstarts the “Ben Carré: A Parisian in Hollywood” project, a...

News to Use – December 17, 2019

MIAMI-DADE COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF CULTURAL AFFAIRS Upcoming Grant Deadlines and Workshops Community Grants Program (CG) – FY2019-2020A quarterly program for non-profit organizations developing small to medium...

Global Carbon Capture, Utilization, And Storage (CCUS) Technologies Market Aims for Remarkable Growth, Targeting USD 7900 Million by 2030 at 15.5% CAGR

According to a market research study published by Zion Market Research, the demand analysis of Global Carbon Capture, Utilization,...

OGA Breaks Ground on New Office Complex for Tennessee Orthopaedic Alliance

27,750-square-foot Clarksville facility will offer a more robust catalog of services NASHVILLE, Tenn., Sept. 14, 2023 /PRNewswire/ -- Oman-Gibson Associates (OGA), a full-service health care real...
celebrity reality tv